Bradford: Frankenstein & (Other) Murder Ballads
Raptor Velocity

Shirley Jackson Day

Join four terrific authors at Foyles Royal Festival Hall for Shirley Jackson Day!

This is a ticketed event on 27 June (click here for details).

Shirley Jackson Day celebrates the legacy of the legendary suspense author, and takes place on the day of the "Lottery" (from Jackson's iconic story of the same name). Join four talented authors for haunting readings and a discussion of Jackson's impact. This year's event will feature readings from finalists for this year's Shirley Jackson Awards:

Sophia Al-Maria ("The Righteous Guide of Arabsat", from The Djinn Falls in Love) is a Qatari-American artist and screenwriter. She is currently writer in residence at the Whitechapel Gallery, London. A collection of Al-Maria’s writing, Sad Sack, will be released later this year with Bookworks UK. Her first book was The Girl Who Fell to Earth (Harper Collins, 2012).

Gary Budden (editor of An Unreliable Guide to London) is a writer, editor and the co-founder of Influx Press. Hollow Shores was published earlier in 2017, and his dark fiction novella, Judderman (as D.A. Northwood) is published in 2018. His short story ‘Greenteeth’ was adapted into a short film by the filmmaker Adam Scovell. His work has been published widely, including Black Static, Structo, Elsewhere, Unthology, The Lonely Crowd, Gorse, and Year’s Best Weird Fiction.

Tade Thompson (The Murders of Molly Southbourne) is a writer of Yoruba descent who lives and works in the United Kingdom. He is the author of The Murders of Molly Southbourne, Rosewater and Making Wolf. His work has won the Kitschies and the Nommo Award for African Speculative Fiction. He has been also been a finalist for both the BSFA and John W. Campbell awards.

The evening is hosted by English PEN's Robert Sharp (author of The Good Shabti).

About the Shirley Jackson Awards

In recognition of the legacy of Shirley Jackson’s writing, and with permission of the author’s estate, the Shirley Jackson Awards have been established for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.